Looking inside ourselves and out at the world
Independent and neutral with regard to all political and religious orientations,® aims to promote awareness of the major democratic principles on which tolerance is based.

German Lawmakers Declare 3 North African Countries Safe

German lawmakers on Friday approved a plan to declare Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia “safe countries of origin,” a move aimed at making it easier to quickly return failed asylum-seekers from the three North African nations and to deter others from coming. The government drew up the plan in January following a spike in new arrivals from the three countries and the New Year's Eve robberies and sexual assaults in Cologne, in which many suspects were of North African...

Read complete article
© Voice of America -

Follow us on ...
Facebook Twitter