Looking inside ourselves and out at the world
Independent and neutral with regard to all political and religious orientations,® aims to promote awareness of the major democratic principles on which tolerance is based.

Central Europeans Form Unit to Advocate for Schengen Zone

The Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary and Poland rejected on Thursday the idea of limiting the European Union's visa-free area to a smaller number of countries and will invite other EU members to help them fight for its survival. Prime ministers of the Visegrad 4 group of countries said they agreed at a meeting in Prague to set up a "Friends of Schengen" initiative to keep borders open, a key achievement of their post-communist integration into Western Europe. The...

Read complete article
© Voice of America -

Follow us on ...
Facebook Twitter