Looking inside ourselves and out at the world
Independent and neutral with regard to all political and religious orientations,® aims to promote awareness of the major democratic principles on which tolerance is based.

Namibia's Pohamba First Ibrahim Prize Winner Since 2011

For the first time since 2011, the Mo Ibrahim Foundation on Monday gave out its award for excellence in African leadership, highlighting the work of outgoing Namibian President Hifikepunye Pohamba with a $5 million prize. Pohamba has led Namibia since 2005 and won a second term in 2009 as the country enjoyed political stability.  The prize committee praised the president for "wise and sound leadership" and the promotion of democracy during his...

Read complete article
© Voice of America -

Follow us on ...
Facebook Twitter