Looking inside ourselves and out at the world
Independent and neutral with regard to all political and religious orientations,® aims to promote awareness of the major democratic principles on which tolerance is based.

Federal Government Recognizes Gay Marriages in Six More States

Attorney General Eric Holder announced Saturday that the federal government will now recognize same sex marriages in six more states. They are Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, North Carolina, West Virginia, and Wyoming. Married gay couples will now qualify for a number of federal benefits, including Social Security and veterans' benefits. Earlier this month, the Supreme Court refused to hear appeals to lower court rulings legalizing gay marriages in those six states. The federal...

Read complete article
© Voice of America -

Follow us on ...
Facebook Twitter